Customer Experiences & Feedback

Why do we always get 5 star reviews on our private tours?

We have 15 years experience planning and providing private tours in Champagne. Our approach to each custom planned tour is to:
1. Develop an in-depth understanding of each client’s interests and needs within their time, budget, and location constraints.
2. Select the best visits from the over 50 vineyards we work with by not taking a commission for a vineyard visit.
3. Offer free concierge advice on local hotels and restaurants in Champagne as well as in Paris.
4. Provide unique experiences for all levels of wine knowledge whether a family visit with kids or sommeliers and vineyard owners looking for highly technical visits.
5. Work with many English speaking driver guides in Paris and Reims so during the busiest season we can match the right guide to the right client.

Tripadvisor 43 Reviews with a rating 5.0 of 5.0 
Google 13 Reviews with a rating 4.9 of 5 

Reviewer, lmacka72
5.0
Reviewed July 27, 2019

"Truly Spectacular Day of Champagne Tasting"

We only had half a day to see the Champagne region. Larry organised a customised private tour to collect us from the TGV station and return us there for our onward train journey. Our driver was waiting for us at the station and collected us in a very comfortable mini van. After a quick drive through Reims, we visited Hautvillers, the resting place of Dom Perignon. There is also a great view over the Champagne valley. The next stop was a tour of Moet et Chandon with a visit to the cellars finishing with a tasting. The final stop was a small producer where we also had a tasting. We were also able to stop at a local bakery to purchase some food for the trip. This was a great way to experience a bucket list item and really appreciated that the tour could be tailored to what we wanted to do in our timeframe. An added bonus was that our two children accompanied us at no extra cost.


Reviewer, SonaLovesToTravel
5.0
Reviewed July 22, 2019

"Customised private tour of the Champagne region"

Well I'm not even sure where to begin...I have so many amazing things to say about this tour that its hard to figure out where to start. Firstly, dealing with Larry was beyond amazing. He organized a day tour for 12 people for visiting various vineyards, having tastings and a beautiful picnic lunch. Communication with Larry was excellent. He responded immediately to any queries and listened carefully to everything when I was telling him about what sort of a day our group was interested in. He absolutely got it perfect. Each visit to the vineyards were so different from each other, something I had not expected. It is definitely not a case of "if you've seen one, you've seen them all". Larry made sure that each place we visited would be a completely new experience. Every single one of our guests in the group loved the day and kept complementing me on how beautifully it was planned out...trust me, I wanted to take the credit but I had to come clean and tell them that Larry was the true mastermind behind our spectacular day!! We all raved so much about the tour that the residence where we were staying took down Larry's information as they thought they had better change to recommending The Champagne Tour Co. as the tour of choice when they had guests coming to the Champagne region. Thanks Larry for a unique and memorable day!


Reviewer, LeDauphinOrson
5.0
Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Reviewed May 22, 2019

"Champagne Tastings in Epernay and Reims!"

This is my second private tour planned by Larry - both different, informative and fun! The first had 2 large champagne houses while the second tour had a small, medium and large. Both were great. Isabelle delivered the tour, working with Larry on logistics, and she was fantastic - longtime resident of the area, knows the industry well and just lovely to spend time with. Larry was very flexible both times in designing itineraries that matched my interests and expectations, along with our travel schedule from Paris - did not want to start before 9:45am in Reims. I would highly recommend the Champagne Tour Co. for planning your visit to Champagne - whether for a day like we did, or longer.


Reviewer, kdwirsi
5.0
Seattle, Washington. Reviewed May 13, 2019

"Exceptional Experience!"

My wife and I worked with Larry to organize a two-day champagne tour last week, and he did a simply marvelous job. We gave him a few ideas of what we had in mind for our anniversary trip, and he arranged an itinerary that featured one-on-ones with winemakers of smaller champagne houses, small group tours at a couple of the bigger houses we requested, and two incredible lunches (in the future, trust Larry and focus more on the smaller producers--so much more intimate, educational and memorable!). He provided a detailed itinerary with descriptions of each champagne house, and our driver, Ahmed, was wonderfully warm and professional and made our time between visits hugely enjoyable. I can hardly rave enough about what Larry helped arrange for us: tailored to our interests, filled with special conversations and tours at a wide range of houses, and something we'll never forget. Thank you, Larry and Ahmed!


Reviewer, jgle4
5.0
Sydney, Australia. Reviewed April 25, 2019

"Well organised"

This is a well organised tour . From the booking process to the efficient service on the day everything worked well We had 8 on our trip . The van was modern and our driver Andy was great . Always on time great commentary and a very good driver . The tour was an all day trip visiting two champagne houses and included a sensational lunch which was probably a bit too good !! We also had a trip to dom perignon abbey and the lookout there is a highlight A good well organised tour


Reviewer, Timetogosetheworld
5.0
Reviewed April 14, 2019

"The Perfect Day"

A well planned high end trip! We were treated like royalty. Our guide was wonderful , knowledgeable and flexible when we ran late (no fault to him or the tour company). Their reccommendations made our day perfect.


Reviewer, Annelie B
5.0
Reviewed April 10, 2019

"Weekend in Reims"

We went on a weekend to Reims and did a full day tour. It was excellent planned! We had a great driver who drove us around for 8h. Can highly recommend these for your champagne tour! It was awesome! And we will be back and use them again.

Reviewer, RShereff
5.0
Fayetteville, North Carolina.  Reviewed March 9th 2019

"Wonderful champagne experience."

Brice was an excellent guide, who was able to teach us about the history, geology and culture of the region. He has excellent rapport and access to local growers, who will happily teach you their process and techniques in addition to the champagne tastings. A day well spent.


Reviewer, Nikki C
5.0
Reviewed October 29, 2018

"Visit the lesser known houses - get up close and personal."

This tour is one we will always cherish. Larry helped plan every detail and Ahmed was our excellent guide. We started our tour at the Notre Dame Cathedral in Reims pand visited Veuve Clicquot, Gaston Chiquet and Dom Perignon. Our tour ended with a delicious lunch at a bistro that was recommend.

Reviewer, Advntr18
5.0
Berkeley, California.  Reviewed September 29, 2018

"Memorable trip to Champagne/Reims"

We were very happy with the 3 Chanpagne house selected by Larry in early September...we just missed the harvest, but some houses were still unloading crates of grapes. Ahmed, our driver was not only professional, but engaging with my Daughter and Son in law who were visiting France for the first time.....The owner of Ernest Remy gave us a very detailed tour of his facility and caves, rules governing the process of wine making in the Reims area, and geography of his vineyards....At Philippe Martin, the house wine dogs played among the staff who were unloading the crates of grapes to be crushed. Lastly, we visited G. Tribaut which produces 9 different types of champagne....it was very busy tasting room with great views of the rolling hills and vineyards...Three very different “houses”.....At Ernest Remy, we were the only party entertained by the owner/wine maker which made it very special. Arrangements with were spot on given the profile of our group shared with Larry. The online payment system and pre-arrival information was perfect. Our goal was to taste champagnes not found in the US and visit this famous wine region of France.


Reviewer, Frickwh
5.0
California.  Reviewed September 24, 2018

"This was the best private tour I have ever had anywhere in the world (160 countries and counting)."

I arranged for a full day trip from Rheims with Champagne Tours to four different champagne houses. Isa was the tour guide and driver. This was the best private tour I have ever had anywhere in the world (160 countries and counting). We went to three smaller houses and Moet and Chandon. Wow! Isa is extraordinarily knowledgeable of the region, of the champagne making processes, and had a good personal relationship at the three smaller wineries. The tour at Moet and Chandon was their standard tour and was fine. But at the three smaller wineries Isa’s familiarity with the winemakers made these stops exceptional, personalized, and fascinating. She was also the driver and certainly knew her way around the winding roads of the region, pointed out landmarks as we went along, and provided many, many interesting examples of the wine making process in this part of France. Between her excellent commentary, her wonderful English, and the three individual winemakers, we had a chance to speak to 3, this was the best tours anywhere anytime any region for any purpose. Not cheap, but worth every penny compared to some bus or van tour of a bunch of wineries, where all you did was go into the tasting room have a little, look at the same equipment, and keep on going to the next. We learned a lot about the region, the making of champagne, and the business aspects involved. Even though this was not our first tour of a champagne winery it was far and away the best. Too bad Tripadvisor does not allow 6 stars!


Reviewer, Corina B
5.0
Ballarat, Australia.  Reviewed July 3, 2018

"Day of Bubbles for the family!"

My husband and I had previously been to Reims 4 years prior, and visited two large champagne houses. This visit we had our two daughters and wanted them to gain a better understanding of the region and process for making champsgne. It was a glorious day and Isabelle collected us from Ardenne train station. We visited two small and one medium a one large sized houses in the Grand Cru area. Each had something different to offer in terms of processes and I couldn’t believe how much we learnt in addition to our last trip . Isabelle dropped us at a lovely restaurant for lunch (high quality but not overly expensive) we finished the day at a larger house BilleCart -Salmon.. Isabelle is so well Respected and her knowledge exceptional. A totally enjoyable day in a comfortable van, with lots of tastings to enhance our champagne appreciation . A must do on the bucket list. Bright Family (Australia)


Reviewer, MoMoney1225
5.0
Minneapolis, Minnesota.  Reviewed March 2, 2018

"Phenomenally entertaining and informative!"

I worked with Larry who built an incredible experience for my family and me. The five of us were picked up in Paris by Gonzague and driven by van to the Champagne region of France. It was a beautiful and informative drive. A little over two hours, I believe. We went to three Champagne houses and one little wine shop that was down in a sort of cave. All of them were very cool. We elected to stick to smaller Champagne houses and loved all of the stops. Gonzague was brilliant and taught us about Champagne, of course, but also French history in general. We hated where we ate for lunch, but that was not the fault of the tour company or Gonzague. I truly could not have been happier with what they put together for us, or with the execution.


Reviewer, Danielle H
5.0
San Franciso, California.  Reviewed January 27, 2018

"Champagne Tasting and Tour"

This tour was amazing! We asked to visit small champagne houses that we could not find in the US and had a sabering lesson. Our guide, Brice, was so knowledgeable and gave us great insight. He also helped us manage a minor medical issue, gave us suggestions for dinner and checked in on us to make sure everything went well. He was by far the best guide we had in France ! I would highly recommend booking this.


Reviewer, Ellen M
5.0
Seattle, Washington.  Reviewed November 29, 2017

"Best Part of Our Whole Trip"

Such an amazing tour! Do yourself a favor and book right now. Brice picked four of us up for a full day, perfectly organized tour of Champagne region, and it was the highlight of weeks of travel through Europe. Only a short easy train ride from Paris and so much fun. Learned so much about champagne and how it is made, while sipping it all day at many champagne houses who knew Brice and thus treated us as special guests instead of tourists. Brice facilitated everything specific to our needs and staging our tour so we could take our time while still seeing five houses, have a leisurely lunch, and make our train at 5pm. This is the way to learn everything about champagne and impress your friends with knowledge for a lifetime!


Reviewer, courtneyjrosellini
5.0
Washington DC, District of Columbia.  Reviewed October 20, 2017

"Perfectly Curated Champagne Experience"

Larry and Brice were the most delightful experts to work with in planning our last-minute family tour of the Champagne region. They whipped up a perfect itinerary including private tours and tastings of three unique Champagne houses: Henri Giraud, Philippe Martin and Louis Brochet. It was a treat to meet Philippe Martin, a 7th generation champagne maker, and hear about his passion for the wine-making process and family company. It was truly an unforgettable excursion and the perfect way to navigate the region as a foreigner!


Reviewer, Parisfan2000
5.0
New York City, New York.  Reviewed June 19, 2017

"The way to taste the best of Champagne"

I am so happy we had a professional guide and driver for our first visit to Champagne. Our trip would have been nowhere close to what we experienced if we tried to drive and book things on our own. Before we went on the trip I reached out to The Champagne Tour Co for information and to tell them the kind of experiences we wanted. I can't say enough about how responsive and nice Larry was to help us arrange the trip. He knew we wanted to visit special and less well known champagnes. And we got the perfect trip. Our guide, Gonzague, was so knowledgeable. He is a local who is very well connected and he got certain houses and producers to open their doors for us. We joined a few small groups but most of our tastings were private and made us feel very special. Gonzague also shared a lot of information with us. Gave us detailed handouts on the history, the economy, the best producers and houses and recipes for pairings! We fell even more in love with the region and Champagne the wine thanks to this tour. We have already told our best friends they need to take this trip and now I'm hoping you the reader will too!


Reviewer, SueCharles
5.0
Holt, United Kingdom.  Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

"A tour of indulgence"

My wife and I worked with Larry to organize a two-day champagne tour last week, and he did a simply marvelous job. We gave him a few ideas of what we had in mind for our anniversary trip, and he arranged an itinerary that featured one-on-ones with winemakers of smaller champagne houses, small group tours at a couple of the bigger houses we requested, and two incredible lunches (in the future, trust Larry and focus more on the smaller producers--so much more intimate, educational and memorable!). He provided a detailed itinerary with descriptions of each champagne house, and our driver, Ahmed, was wonderfully warm and professional and made our time between visits hugely enjoyable. I can hardly rave enough about what Larry helped arrange for us: tailored to our interests, filled with special conversations and tours at a wide range of houses, and something we'll never forget. Thank you, Larry and Ahmed!


Épernay Office de Tourisme Logo


Tel: +33.140.279.687
Phone Hours: Mon to Fri 10am - 6pm
Other times: Please use e-mail (Link @ Top)

Reims Office du Tourisme